Reviews

 


Shelly L.
South Pasadena, CA
5 Star Review
11/7/2018

I want to be better at projecting my voice so I ask a friend for recommendation as I have zero experience in singing lesson. She told me: “Sean is going to transform you.” That’s a lot of expectation to live up to.
Sean is super patient and tried all method to make me not as nervous. Even after the first class I could hear a big improvement of my voice. The class is really about training the habit of using the right muscles. Originally I was only going to take the lessons for a couple months but as the class goes on I can start seeing myself doing a cover. That’s was the least thing I imagine I could do before. Thanks Sean for all the encouragement and you funny comments!


Bruce D.
Los Angeles, CA
5 Star Review
10/15/2018

If you feel like you’re lacking some oomph in your singing voice then Sean is the guy to see. I’m a professional musician & singer, but I always felt a little held back by my inability to really belt when the song called for it. Within twenty minutes Sean had me singing louder and with less effort and strain than I ever had before. I’ve had three lessons with him so far and he has completely enhanced my confidence as a singer.
I had been wasting my time trying to learn vocal technique from YouTube videos. I’m so glad I found Sean. I can’t recommend him enough.


Marissa S.
Pasadena, Los Angeles, CA
5 Star Review
9/11/2018

While on the search for a voice coach, I came across Sean Lee on yelp. I wrote him a message, and immediately he got back to me w/ a quote and appointment times. The very next day, I went in with a friend who wanted help learning how to properly sing so as not to lose breath mid-song. Within thirty minutes, Sean taught him many great techniques that my friend couldn’t stop buzzing about. Just the difference between pre-lesson and post-lesson recordings was incredible. Sean was easy to talk to, a master at vocal techniques, and an all around nice guy. Not to mention, you can’t beat that price for the expertise you’re getting. Definitely would recommend.


Ashleigh G.
San Francisco, CA
5 Star Review
9/5/2018

I’m so glad I found Sean! I recently was invited to record a demo. I thought I’d be singing in a soft tone. When the time came to sing the song the producer needed me to belt. I was only confident enough to do it because of my lessons with the Voice Mechanic. He really strengthened my voice and made me more secure in my sound. If you’re looking to improve your sound he’s your guy!


Darius T.
Milpitas, CA
5 Star Review
8/29/2018

Sean is awesome. We recorded a video before and after just 30 minutes of coaching and he helped me improve with just a few simple tips. I can’t wait to take several more months of coaching with him.
He’s patient, kind, and funny. I have no singing experience and he made me feel comfortable right off the bat. Highly recommended.


Carolyn M.
Los Angeles, CA
5 Star Review
6/26/2018

Sean is a great vocal instructor. His instruction is very “to the point” and effective. I noticed a fantastic improvement in my singing abilities in a short amount of time and I continue to improve with his teaching. I always look forward to working with Sean because he goes above and beyond to help my improvement with a pleasant personality. I highly recommend him.


Karol P.
Venice, CA
5 Star Review
3/15/2018

Taking lessons with Sean Lee “The Voice Mechanic” was a real game-changer. I was finally able to express myself in ways that I never thought possible. But beyond this, Sean has a real talent for getting the most out of a person. He has a real gift for this and if you bring him to the studio to help you record your album… You’ll be glad you did!


Jennifer D.
Pico Rivera, CA
5 Star Review
1/4/2018

If you are wanting to take your vocals to a whole new level, Sean is DEFINITELY the mechanic you want to come to. He’s truly a unique kind of coach. He knows how to stretch your voice to its fullest because you will find that he knows YOUR voice better than you know your own voice.
You will be blown away as to what he can do in only one lesson. I have absolutely no experience in singing but just a desire to be able to belt out songs the way friends and family do, but desiring to do it well. So after only 2 months of lessons, I can honestly & confidently say that I would not shy away from a karaoke scene any longer. Sean is that AMAZING!!!
This whole review is coming from someone who is as shy and quiet as a mouse. So if I’m giving Sean unlimited stars, it’s for a very honest reason!


Nick L.
Riverside, CA
5 Star Review
12/12/2017

I’ve been singing in bands all my life, but lately I kept blowing out my voice and I knew I was doing something wrong. I’ve been to these coaches that tell you to load up with air and blow it out, However, That technique was like taking a cheese grater to my vocal chords! So i knew i needed help. I saw Sean’s ad on Yelp, and called him, In one lesson he showed me what I was doing wrong, and its a great thing i contacted him because i was struggling to sing like I used to, in fact I was miserable. I love to sing and lost my chops. I’ve been to four lessons and I’m hitting highs in Ozzy Osbourne’s songs, Chris Cornell, Chester Bennigton. My falsetto is even coming back although Sean emphasizes High Belting, like opera singers! He’s simply amazing and he’s been doing this a long time. If your vocals are struggling, I would only recommend Sean, because he’s extremely intelligent, talented and easy to work with!! If you love to sing but are struggling to hit all those dulcet tones, there’s only one choice; The Voice Mechanic!


Luca S.
Orient, IA
5 Star Review
11/22/2017

I started taking vocal lessons with Sean 3 weeks ago. Its just amazing. I couldn’t imagine a better teacher and I have a lot of fun with Sean too.
After 3 weeks I already hear and feel a huge difference in my voice.
Definitely will try to take as much lessons as possible during my stay in LA.
In the beginning I was too shy to sing properly because I didn’t have any experience in singing at all, but Sean gave me a lot of confidence and just made me feel good and relaxed, so I finally was self-confident enough to really sing as clean and good as I could.
His feedback is great and he lets you sing whatever you want to ( even Nickelback;) ) and helps you to improve in your own style of singing.
So I can definitely recommend to take vocal lessons with Sean. Even just one lesson helped me a lot and I could already improve. He told me a lot about my voice in general too.
Unfortunately I have to go back to Germany soon. I would have loved to spend more time with Sean and have a lot of fun with him.
Sean, I will definitely enjoy my next/last lessons with you, can´t wait to see you next week again !!!


Esther O.
Los Angeles, CA
5 Star Review
10/11/2017

This is an update with the voice mechanic my classes with Sean have been great. My voice has gotten stronger in a few lessons. My confidence has gotten better because I no longer struggle with the breathing like I use too. There is more room for improvement of course!!!
Sean has chosen songs for me that a few months ago…..not having the proper technique.
I would have never thought of singing!!! I really enjoy the fact that now I can sing these songs..again there is room for improvement!!!
He really listens to your voice and knows how to push (gently but firmly) you to achieve your singing goals. This makes me more determined to reach my fullest vocal potential. Sean is very patient, kind and very encouraging! He believes that if you have the desire yes you can sing!!!!


Esther O.
Los Angeles, CA
5 Star Review
9/10/2017

I had class today with Sean. I learned more in 45 minutes with him than in the community college vocal class. He explained the basic technique for proper breathing that allowed me to sing louder, clearer and stronger. I felt my voice sing with more clarity!


Eden E.
Los Angeles, CA
5 Star Review
8/26/2017

I’ve looked around and Sean is the best singing teacher in town. Prior to learning with him
I had no singing experience what so ever. I never even sang for fun alone! But after just 1 hour with the voice mechanic I not only learned to sing my favorite songs but it projected and sounded like something I actually wouldn’t mind listening to!
I have a very low voice so I was concerned that I would never be able to sing high. But after like 3 lessons I was singing a whole octave higher! (Which is way higher than I ever imagined I could sing) I recommend Sean to any aspiring rock singers that want to see immediate results in their voice.


Keith R.
Lawndale, CA
5 Star Review
7/27/2017

This is the same review I left on Google….Sean is a Great vocals instructor. I`ve had other teachers over the years, But so happy to have run across Sean, & gave him a shot, Was singing much better after first lesson, improved my breathing control, among other things, Sean Has some unique & different exercises, Lucky & thankful to have met him, I`m a much better singer today thanks to Sean.


Arty H.
La Puente, CA
5 Star Review
5/25/2017

I walked in with an open mind and a decent voice. I walked out baffled and with a voice worthy of the gods. 30 minutes with Sean and you will see what your voice is truly capable of. I had been wanting vocal lessons for over 2 years, I finally decided to go for it and found Sean. He definitely lives up to his name, “The Voice Mechanic”. He doesn’t just make good singers, he makes miracles.
– Art


Leezah H.
5 Star Review
4/25/2017

Sean has done wonders with my daughters’ voice. He teaches her to use the right breathing technique to bring out her voice. From just her first lesson, there was already a remarkable difference and confidence in her voice. Anyone looking for an awesome voice teacher, Sean is the perfect person you’re looking for.


Jasmin P.
Los Angeles, CA
5 Star Review

3/18/2017

I am considered to tone deaf, flat and breath through my chest (as I found recently). Sean makes it just so easy to sing, belt and do that in tune.
I chose to work with him because makes singing accessible and easy to learn. Most importantly I dont feel like I’m being judged at all. Anything I want to try out I get to try.
Most importantly, he is just the most genuine and also one nicest people I have had the chance to meet. He goes way over and beyond and gives you everything he has.
I dont write reviews generally cause I don’t like giving bad feedback about anyone’s business. I just chose not go there or use their services. Having said that, if someone goes out of his way to help me achieve somethng I couldn’t dream of doing, I will most def take the time to write a review.
Mr. Voice Mechanic:)))) thank you from the bottom of my heart
See you in class


Karina H.
Los Angeles, CA
5 Star Review
2/9/2017

I’m not a big “yelper” but this guy deserves my 5 star review. My son got a call back to audition for LACHSA, it really is a big deal for him. We had tried voice lessons in the past but my experience was an ok one, since I had no way of telling if his voice had improved or not. However I decided to give The Voice Mechanic a try, simply because I wanted him to improve my son’s volume. I liked what I saw on his website but the real surprise came on the first lesson. He improved my son’s voice in the first hour! He was able to teach his technique in just one session and for that I feel very grateful. In only three sessions he has helped my son’s voice flourish beautifully. One of my concerns was that my son would force his voice at times, after The Voice Mechanic he can sing loud and without loosing his breath as he used to. His audition is this weekend and he’s very confident he will do great! The Voice Mechanic listens to your needs and gets right down to business!


Neva R.
Reno, NV
5 Star Review
1/23/2017

Sean’s the real deal–this man knows his stuff! In just an hour the SO learned more about technique and range than he’d learned in the last 20 years, so that pretty much speaks for itself. Not only that, but Sean was totally accommodating, squeezing us in on the day after Christmas (even AFTER we got stuck in Santa Monica traffic and were 15 minutes late!) since we were only visiting for the weekend…I’d highly recommend checking him out if you’re looking for a skilled “mechanic” to help tune YOUR voice!


Dylan C.
Los Angeles, CA
5 Star Review
5/2/2016

Sean is the best, great guy, and in just a few lessons he has gotten me singing so much better all around, but especially my high belting. He has me singing a lot higher than I thought I ever could and with so much less effort.


Alisa C.
Manhattan Beach, CA
5 Star Review
4/22/2016

Sean is an amazing teacher. His techniques really improved my singing abilities. I will be coming back to him!!


Brendan J.
Los Angeles, CA
5 Star Review
12/8/2015

Great lessons at a great price. I did several lessons with Sean and right away he focused on technique and in the context of the music I play. Would definitely recommend to anyone who wants to improve their singing.


James C.
Ashford, United Kingdom
5 Star Review
10/12/2015

Sean improved my voice 100% within about 30 minutes. Every other vocal coaching i have had spent the majority of the time singing scales and exercises where as Sean gets to the root of the technical problems and shows you how to apply the knowledge straight away!


Bruna R.
Los Angeles, CA
5 Star Review
4/30/2015

I’m completely blown-away by The Voice Mechanic’s technique. In less than 30 minutes he taught me what other hasn’t taught me in 3 years. And the best is that my friend who was waiting for me outside noticed the difference too and he got it taped.
My confidence has increased so much and I’m so eager to keep taking lessons with him. The best vocal coach in town.
I’m writing this now but I’m SURE that I’ll write another great review in the future because things will only get better and better!


Farai K.
Los Angeles, CA
5 Star Review
3/31/2015

Sean is amazing! I’ve been singing my entire life, and in the first 35 minutes, he taught me things that I had never heard before. And, my voice had already seen improvement after one session! I’ll be back.


David M.
Beverly Hills, CA
5 Star Review
12/15/2014

Sean really knows what he’s doing! By the first 30 minutes I was already singing more comfortably and with more confidence. I see myself training with Sean for a long time. Down to earth guy with great technique!


Ricky O.
Los Angeles, CA
5 Star Review
7/16/2014

When I took my first lesson with Sean, right away I was shown the right placement and breathing which increased my power. After that first lesson I did not feel the soreness I used to after an hour of hard rock singing. I thought it was normal that the voice would hurt after singing hard for an hour or so, but now I don’t get sore anymore and my band have told me I sound more powerful and louder… a huge improvement after only 4 lessons. I will highly recommend the voice mechanic. Ricky – Rebel Hotel


Scott M.
Los Angeles, CA
5 Star Review
5/12/2014

I noticed a huge difference in my voice in only 20 minutes with Sean. The technique he teaches is incredibly effective, and the price is more than reasonable for top-level voice coaching. I’ll definitely be going back to see The Voice Mechanic!


Felix G.
West Hollywood, CA
5 Star Review
2/11/2014

I’ve only had a few voice classes in my life but I will never forget this one 🙂 I literally felt like I left with a new voice, or one I just excavated. Sean teaches a very effective and efficient technique and is also very attentive, patient and has a wonderful aura. His rates are very reasonable and he’s a very generous coach. I would definitely recommend him for pro singers as well as actors who just want to strengthen their voice. *****


Bill L.
Santa Monica, CA
5 Star Review
8/13/2013

I was always told that I have a “unique” sounding voice. I am from the Midwest and we speak with a nasal tone to our dialect. I moved to Los Angeles to become an actor. I was told already that I missed out on the lead role for a national commercial because my voice did not fit my physique and look. The casting agents wanted me for the commercial so bad but could not get past my voice and the lead went to another LA talent. I could always sing pretty decent because I would enunciate the words with power and that nasal pitch is gone when I sing. I went to Shawn for two reasons. To become a better singer but also have control of my voice when speaking. Immediately on the first session within 30 seconds Shawn pointed out my nasal sound and why I did that for so many years. Shawn showed me a simple method of letting the sound travel out of my cheek bones instead of my nose which makes the sound resonate and carry in a magnificent way. I was so excited that I decided I need Shawn once per week to retrain the way I speak because its only natural to fall back into my old way of speaking. It is all about retraining and projecting your voice and not holding it back. I must say the exercises are pretty intense. A lot of work with the diaphragm. Shawn’s approach is fun and he keeps it simple to get to the root of the problem quickly. Thanks Sean!


Steven M.
Los Angeles, CA
5 Star Review
8/12/2013

I’m amazed with the singing lesson. I was able to sing better than I’ve ever had in my life thanks to Sean Lee. I was able to learn a better approach to singing than what I was previously applying to the craft. I’m able to sing notes I normally wouldn’t have been able to sing. I felt my voice reach new levels of power. You could really tell the difference between before and after. I feel more confident about my singing abilities. I could walk into a room and sing with a sense of accomplishment. The results have been great.


Marlin G.
Los Angeles, CA
5 Star Review
8/9/2013

Sean Lee is the best vocal coach I’ve ever had, bar none. As a recovering drummer, my musical abilities weren’t only limited to one discipline, they were almost non-existent. No voice, no ear, no technique, no confidence, nothing except a late-blooming decision to try and scratch up enough musicality to sing a simple song. Sean’s deep musical knowledge and engaging personality have made working with him a very pleasant and rewarding experience for me. He not only teaches me to sing the notes, he demonstrates how they work in the context of musical structure and how they fit into the scales, arpeggios, keys, modes, the whole chimichanga. I couldn’t be more pleased with his instruction and I recommend him highly to anyone who want to sing professionally, as a hobby, whatever.

Comment from Sean L. of The Voice Mechanic
Business Manager
8/12/2013 You have inspired me as well Marlin, with your vast knowledge of the Blues…


J B.
Los Angeles, CA
5 Star Review
8/1/2013

I was blown away! Within 30 minutes I was singing from the right place and able to reach notes that I’d usually crack on. I was able to sing with rasp, which I was never able to do without getting hoarse. My voice felt much more powerful and my projection improved quickly. My overall tone sounded much stronger and less airy.
I took classical training vocal lessons which was always scales and had me singing the wrong way. My voice was always airy, weak and would crack often. When I first came in, Sean pointed that out to me right away and showed me how to sing properly. He picked up that my voice was airy and over-exerted when trying to sing. This was only my first lesson, I can’t wait to see how much I progress with the lessons to come.


Dezzy B.
Los Angeles, CA
5 Star Review
5/7/2013

Sean Lee has really helped me improve my vocals. If fact, i went to karaoke recently with some friends and sang. my friends were so impressed with my vocal improvement that they cheered and told me how significantly my singing has improved. I couldn’t believe the results have been so great. ~ Dezzy Blaze (Nightshade)


Mary I.
Los Angeles, CA
5 Star Review
3/30/2011

I loved this experience! Sean Lee is a caring and very capable vocal coach and he has taught me how to sing – my fantasy guilty pleasure. I highly recommend the Voice Mechanic if you want to have your vocal dreams come true.